Manage PMS naturally

I have since recorded and studied my own experiences and applied nutritional knowledge, research and experimentation (and to my boyfriends relief) can now happily manage and avoid PMS for good!

When I used to be on the pill I would think nothing of getting my period. I would happily strut about my normal, everyday life, pain free and sane.

Then, about 2 years ago, after 13 happy years of pill popping, I went cold turkey. I was excited about what this might mean. A lighter, even happier me perhaps? Nope!

Low mood, anger, crying, bloating, headaches and irritability bounded into my life like the mafia, crashing into my mind and demanding my sanity on a monthly basis. At the time I had a lot going on; training for the London Marathon, experimenting with veganism, working a 9-5 and building up a couple of businesses, so I assumed these new experiences were symptomatic of a relatively stressful time. Then it got worse. For nearly three months I had no period at all and on a couple of occasions I physically shook with anger and experienced extremely low mood for absolutely no reason.  The symptoms were so extraordinarily out of character. It was then that it dawned on me that something else was happening, something chemical.

I spoke to a doctor and a nutritionalist as well as doing my own research and studying. After my marathon was over and i returned to a normal diet my periods also made a come back. The severe low mood eased up and my body returned to a level of normality. However, the week before my period remained a series of sleepless nights, headaches, bloating, low mood and irritability.

I could cope with the physical symptoms but as a usually emotionally strong and optimistic person, the mental effects were hard to accept. I have since recorded and studied my own experiences and applied nutritional knowledge, research and experimentation (and to my boyfriends relief) can now happily manage and avoid PMS for good!

If there happens to be a man reading this please note: When your girlfriend or wife, unexpectedly becomes emotional, down, irritable or acts irrationally and you think to ask, the quite seemingly rational question; ‘Are you due on your period?’ Please be aware that this can only result in one of two ways:

  1. ‘Oh yes, I am, of course! Thanks darling/honey/babe’ -(Highly UN-Likely. In fact if this does happen, marry her. Now!)
  2. Dagger eyes followed by you inevitable violent death-( Highly Likely )

I now write in my diary and try my best to be aware of the week before my period. If I forget and my boyfriend does ask me that question, I do answer with the 1st response, with relief that the sudden physical and emotional changes are both chemical and manageable. (No proposal has been made though…ignorant!)

I now treat the week before as a pampering, reset week and detox for my body as opposed to meeting it unprepared or with dread

The Week Before

I make a special effort the week before my period but if you can include these tips throughout the month then thats even better…

  • Cut down or avoid stimulants such as caffeine and alcohol
  • Increase intake of omega 3 & 6 in the forms of salmon, mackerel, seeds
  • Add cold pressed seed oils on my salads or in soups and stews
  • Increase natural sleep aids such as camomile tea and valerian root
  • Use cinnamon to help with bloating and manage sugar cravings
  • Eat small amounts on a regular basis
  • Avoid stress and do lots of whatever makes you feel relaxed!
  • Exercise regularly. Calming exercises like walking, jogging, swimming or yoga
  • Include ginger and peppermint in my diet to aid digestion and soothe my tummy
  • Reduce intake of animal fats such as dairy
  • Eat organic to reduce intake of other chemicals and toxins that will reap havoc with your hormones
  • Avoid sugar refined and processed foods
  • Have baths, use essential oils, meet with friends and people that make you laugh, take it easy and self indulge! Love being a woman!

Foods to eat for managing hormones

  • Beef & lamb and other meats
  • Fish; mackerel, salmon and shell fish
  • Starchy vegetables
  • Nuts, seed and their oils (especially pumpkin seeds)
  • Dark chocolate
  • Dark leafy greens
  • Mushrooms
  • Spinach
  • Cashews
  • Oysters are particular great but I don’t like them

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

