Fresh Mackerel Pate with coriander and lime

Fresh Mackerel Pate with coriander and lime

DSC_0443

What is this recipe good for?

I first made this recipe coming towards the end of summer when we had caught our last mackerel. I then used it to accommodate my sudden increase in training when I got into the London Marathon  last year.

High in:

  • Vitamin D
  • Selenium
  • Omega 3
  • Co Enzyme Q10
  • B2, B3 and B12

DSC_0371

Good for:

  • Brain health
  • Depression and anxiety
  • Skin and hair
  • Anti ageing
  • Antioxidant properties
  • Protein for body repair

DSC_0380

Usually mackerel pate is made using smoked mackerel which is one of my favourites ….until I made this one! I had about 6 fresh mackerel and some limes and coriander left over from a recent street food event so I though I’d see how the three go together spread on toast or oatcakes! The rich-ness of the fish with the fragrant herb and citrus works really well!

I chose cottage cheese instead of cream cheese (often used in mackerel pate) as its naturally lower in fat, a great source of B12 which helps with lack of energy as well as tender and sore muscles and it contains selenium which promotes a healthy heart and reduces inflammation.

Ingredients:DSC_0394

  • 200g cottage cheese
  • 5 -6 fillets of fresh cooked mackerel that has cooled
  • Lime juice
  • Fresh coriander
  • 1 tsp horseradish
  • Seasoning

Simply blend all the ingredients together  with  more of less of what you like ……next time I’m going to try adding some chilli! You can spread on oatcakes, rye toast or whatever you like…..

mack pate

Leave a Reply

